Glebe Primary School


Our Governing Body

What are governors?
Governors are the strategic leaders of our school and they have a vital role to play in making sure that every child gets the best possible education.

Governing Body’s Core Functions
The Governing Body has a strong focus on three core strategic functions:-

  • ensuring the clarity of vision, ethos and strategic direction,
  • holding the headteacher to account for the educational performance of the school and its pupils,
  • overseeing the financial performance of the school and making sure that its money is well spent.

The Governors:

  • ensure that the required curriculum is taught
  • interview and select staff
  • set targets for pupil achievement
  • report on assessments and test results
  • agree procedures for staff conduct and discipline
  • decide how the school budget is spent
  • draw up action plans after inspections.

School Governors have legal duties, powers and responsibilities. They can act together, they cannot act individually. Governors serve for a period of four years. 

The Full Governing Body meets twice a term. Sub Committees meet once each term. The Sub Committees are: 

  • Finance, Strategy, Health, Safety & Premises
  • Teaching, Learning & Staffing

Statutory guidance from the Department for Education

Glebe School’s Governing Body for the Year 2021/22 is made up of the following people:

  • Headteacher

Mrs Farihah Anwar-Simmons (Maternity Leave)

Ms Lisa Biggin (Interim Headteacher)

  • Parent Representatives

Mrs Ngozi Anajuba
Mrs Jankhana Bhuta
Ms Seema Varsani 
Mr Sam Wooldridge 

  • Co-opted Representatives

Mrs Jeanette D’Costa
Mr James Leigh
Ms Helene Galdin-O’Shea (Vice Chair)
Mr Navin Shah
Mrs Sheila Ordish 
Mr Aman Sawhney (Chair)

  • Staff Representative


  • Clerk to the Governing Body

Jo Sattaur

Parent Governors: 

  • have a child in school
  • are elected by the parents of the school
  • are representatives of the parents.

What can Parent Governors be expected to do?
Parent Governors, like other governors, join a committee focusing on a particular area. They play an important part in encouraging parent interest in the school and they actively engage parents into the life of the school.

To find out more about the Governing Body
Speak with the Headteacher.
Minutes of meetings are available to view on request.